Surgical Art – A Brief Timeline

 


Sunday 16th March 2018

We are looking forward to joining up with Liverpool John Moores University's Face Lab again to deliver Artistic Perspectives for a Facial Clinical Practice on Saturday 12th & Sunday 13th May 2018, bringing artists, anthropologists and surgeons together to provide a unique perspective on the face.


Wednesday 14th March 2018

Our Surgical Art Hand Fracture Fixation course will be back again on Saturday 7th & Sunday 8th April and there are only a few places left. We have even made the news with our innovative bone model: http://metro.co.uk/2018/02/18/hand-surgeon-gets-students-interested-fixing-broken-bones-help-nandos-chicken-7322553/


Sunday 11th March 2018

Surgical Art is running a ST3 Mock Interview & Interview training day as part of Performing for the ST3 interview in Plastic Surgery on Saturday 24th 2018.  So if you are doing the interview this year, this is the perfect opportunity to touch up on your strategy, body language and communication skills.


Friday 9th March 2018

The first (but not the last) Microsurgery & Flap Dissection  Course of 2018 is starting tomorrow and "Team Denmark" are back!


Sunday 17th February 2018

One week to go before we run our increasingly popular Local Flaps & Skin Graft Course and we are very excited to be welcoming delegates from Hong Kong & Denmark alongside trainees from across the country on Saturday 24th & Sunday 25th February 2018.


Sunday 14th January 2018

After the success of our first Hand Trauma Course we are looking forward to running it again for Plastic & Orthopaedic Surgery trainees from as far afield as Poland on Saturday 10th & Sunday 11th February 2018.


Saturday 13th January 2018

So we finished 2017 with a new course and we are starting 2018 with another - Performing for the ST3 Interview in Plastic Surgery is just about to start!  We will be doing the same again in two weeks time on Saturday 27th & Sunday 28th January 2018 for another group of trainees preparing for their interviews.


Friday 10th November 2017

Everyone is feeling festive for the last Surgical-Art Course of 2017.  It's been quite a year for us so we thought we would go out with a bang and launch the first course in our Artistic Perspectives programme with Artistic Perspectives for a Facial Clinical Practice!  It's taking place on Saturday 9th & Sunday 10th December and some lucky people have won a free place on this course.


Saturday 25th November 2017

A unique porcine dissection model, extra and intra-vascular views and a digital microscopy laboratory are all being utilised right now on our  Microsurgery & Flap Dissection  Course.


Saturday 4th November 2017

Our last Hand Fracture Fixation  Course of 2017 will take place on Saturday 2nd & Sunday 3rd December and we already have a waiting list!


Friday 3rd November 2017

Surgical Art is very excited to be partnering with BAPRAS today in the delivery of the Fundamental Skills for Plastic Surgery Course.


Friday 26th August 2017

After the success of our first Local Flaps & Skin Graft  Course this innovative course is returning on Saturday 14th & Sunday 15th October 2017 and we are really excited to be welcoming our second group of delegates from Denmark, flying over to attend 


Sunday 20th August 2017

Our Hand Fracture Fixation Course is already almost full, with only two spaces left for Saturday 16th & Sunday 17th September  2017.   


Saturday 5th August 2017

We are delighted to announce our latest new course - Hand Trauma Course, helping delegates manage soft tissue trauma to the hand.  We have a small number of spaces left for Saturday 19th & Sunday 20th August  2017.   


Tuesday 27th June 2017

This time round we have put our Performing for the FRCS (Plast) - 22nd Jul & 26th Aug and Drawing for the FRCS (Plast)- 23rd & 27th Aug back to back, giving comprehensive coverage of these lesser taught components of the FRCS examination.


Tuesday 30th May 2017

Times flies...It's been three months since our last Hand Fracture Fixation  Course and we are ready for the next one this weekend (3/4 June 2017) now we have taken delivery of our fracture fixation kits courtesy of Medartis


Saturday 6th May 2017

The second ever Surgical Art Microsurgery & Flap Dissection Course has just started and we are really pleased with the refinements we have made to our Digital Microscopy Laboratory and delighted to welcome "Team Denmark"


Monday 1st May 2017

Not long now until our first Local Flaps& Skin Graft Course on Saturday 20th & Sunday 21st May 2017, and we are very excited to revel our two latest innovations - The Surgical-Art Face and The Surgical-Art Z-Plasty Model, both with incredible anisoptropic properties to simulate skin.


Sunday 5th March 2017

Another successful Hand Fracture Fixation course this weekend with more happy delegates.  Our innovative chicken bone model (simulating real bone feel) is working really well for trainees.


Saturday 21st January 2017

Today we are running our first ever Drawing for the FRCS (Plast) course, designed to complement the Performing for the FRCS (Plast) Course.


Saturday 9th December 2016

Due to high demand we will be running Performing for the FRCS (Plast) again before the March Exam on Saturday 7th January  & Saturday 11th February 2017)!!!


Friday 8th December 2016

It's been lots of planning in the making but we are all ready  for our first ever Microsurgery & Flap Dissection Course this starting tomorrow(on Saturday 9th & Sunday 10th December 2016)!!!

 


Thursday 17th November 2016

Now for something totally different...  Surgical Art has collaborated with communication experts from Spotlight School of Speech & Drama to devise Performing for the FRCS (Plast) focusing on strategy, communication skills and body language for the FRCS (Plast) part 2.  Our first course will run in preparation for the March 2017 exam on Saturday 17th December 2016 and Saturday 28th January 2016.


Friday 7th September 2016

After feedback from delegates on our first  one day Hand Fracture Fixation Course in May we have extended it to a two day course on Saturday 4th & Sunday 5th November 2016.


Saturday 25th June 2016

Following on from the success of our Hand Fracture Fixation Course in May we will be running a 1 day Nerve & Tendon Repair course  next week on Saturday 2nd July 2016.


Saturday 12th March 2016

We are very excited to announce the first official Surgical Art Course - a 1 day Hand Fracture Fixation Course at our very own Surgical-Art Studios on Saturday 7th May 2016.